Back to the Forts for the Day

Saturday morning April 25th we drove back west on Hwy 29 to return to Fort McKavett.  On the way we drove through the small town of Menard and let the “kids” see the Historic Ditch walk where there are many properties that still access the water that runs through this stone aqueduct used for irrigation since 1876.  Then out to the Presidio de San Saba which was originally built in 1757 by the Spanish to protect them next to the San Saba River from the Comanche.  Some of the stone remains are still here and a nice archeological site has been completed showing some of the old walls and buildings.  The old Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe railroad station built in 1911 was donated to the city in 1972 and is used as a county museum now. 

After we left there we drove out west 3 miles to the Fort where they were having a special demonstration day.  There were people in historic costumes showing how to build wooden trunks, a blacksmith, a tailor making frock coats, and a group of Boy Scouts who were there to stay in one of the old barracks and do projects to earn some badges.  This fort is a well preserved example of the Texas Forts built around 1852 to protect settlers from the Indians.  It was actually occupied by residents for many years after the fort was decommissioned in June 1883.  One of the docents there actually attended school in the little schoolhouse still standing.  This is probably one of the finest restorations of a frontier fort available today.  The kids were impressed!

Leaving there we returned to Llano where the Annual Crawfish Festival and Golf Tournament was in full swing with thousands there to golf, listen to the many western bands and eat lots of “bugs” (as they are called in Louisiana).

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *